Monday, January 17, 2011

Annual Meeting Tonight!

6:00 at Miseno's in Carlisle. Mmmm...Pizza...

All club officer and executive committee positions are up for election!

Miseno's is on W. High Street, just before Massey's.

See you tonight!

Thursday, May 27, 2010

Summer Smackdown!!!

From Dr. Goates:

Back for 2010, it's the battle of South Mountain (or something similarly grandiose and awe-inspiring)!

o^o o^o o^o

Yup, this summer, like last summer, Ship Cycling is going to collaborate with South Mountain Velo and Yellow Breeches Racing for the 2010 SMVC/YBR/Ship Cycling Summer Smackdown. This is how it works:

There are FOUR events, an individual time trial, a road race (its only like 23 miles or something), a hill climb to Big Flat, and, new this year, a team time trial.

Each event is scored kind of like a cross country meet. Each team's first three riders to finish score points for the team. The fourth and fifth riders displace the points riders from other teams would score. Additional riders are excluded from team scoring. Lowest point total wins.

So, say the first four riders that finish an event are Ship Cycling and the next three riders that finish are South Mountain. Ship Cycling would score 1 + 2 + 3 = 6 points for their first three finishers. Fourth place is Ship Cycling; he doesn't score any points, but he pushes South Mountain riders down the scale so they score more points. South Mountain would score 5 + 6 + 7 = 18 points. 6 < 18 so Ship Cycling wins.

Even though it's billed as a competition between the three area clubs, EVERYONE IS INVITED! Others can form their own teams (I'm campaigning for Lost Boys to send a contingent) or just vie for individual glory. Non-team riders displace the points teams would earn.

HERE'S THE CALENDAR (everything subject to change):

** Thurs, June 3, 6:00 pm - individual time trial. YBR hosts. Meet at the campground on Pine Grove Rd about five miles north of Pine Grove Furnace SP. (This is the regular Ironmasters TT, hosted by the much loved and probably underappreciated Mark Laser.)

** Wed, June 30 (rain date: July 1), 6:00 pm - road race. Ship Cycling hosts. Meet at Pine Grove Furnace SP. The parking lot by the reservoir. (Probably the same course that we did last year--south on 233, left on Shippensburg Rd, left on Wenksville, left on Coon, left on Bendersville Rd, right on Pine Grove Rd. Probably the same course... It's negotiable.)

** Wed, July 7 (rain date: July 8), 6:00 pm - South Mountain hill climb. SMV hosts. Meet at Southhampton Township Park. (Mass start hill climb up the seven-some miles from Cleversburg to Big Flat.)

** Wed, July 15, time tbd -- team time trial. Dan Daly hosting. (Not sure on the details yet. Probably we'll run this on Route 174, Dan's normal time trial route--for those of you to whom that means anything--from a few miles south of Carlisle to a few miles short of Shippensburg and back again. 40k. We'll have to do this a little later in the day so as to not have to fight traffic, but probably by 7:00 pm we should be fine. We also have to agree on rules, but there's plenty of time for those mundane details...)


Note the ITT is scheduled for NEXT WEEK. One week from today, actually. Time to dust off the clip-ons and get ready to roll!


If you've any questions, feel free to direct them to me...then I'll have you ask Jim Hartnett.

Monday, March 29, 2010

Ironmasters Time Trial Series Begins April 1!!!


First rider off at 6:00 PM.

Start location:

Who's in?


Sunday, January 3, 2010

2010 YBR Membership

Is now open, here:

Non-believers will be purged from the mailing list on 2/1/10.

Happy New Year!


P.S. The 2010 Ironmasters TT series starts on Thursday, 4/1/10...

Monday, October 12, 2009

Iron Cross VII Is History!

On a spectacular Fall day in South Central Pennsylvania, nearly 300 racers from across the U.S., Canada, and the U.K. competed in Iron Cross VII, the 7th edition of America's longest cyclocross race. Staging from the Carlisle Family YMCA's Camp Thompson in Pine Grove Furnace State Park, racers tackled a mass start, entered and exited the Spiral of Death and then headed into Michaux State Forest for a massive single loop consisting of paved roads, fire roads, beachfront, doubletrack, singletrack, brutal climbs, steep run-ups, sketchy downhills, and numerous stream crossings.

62 miles and over 6,000 feet of climbing later, riders returned to Camp Thompson, negotiated a sand pit and one final barrier and crossed the finish line.

The Overall and Men's Senior victor was Jeremiah Bishop (MonaVie-Cannondale), followed by Ross Delaplane (Green Mountain), Andy Guptill (CBRC-Iron Cross), Rob Lichtenwalner (, and Adam Farabaugh (Hershey Cancer Center/GPOA).

This win was Bishop's second Iron Cross victory.

The Men's Master race was captured by Andy Applegate (Champion Systems-Cannondale), followed by Ron Glowczynski (, Doug Jansen (International), Mike Laub (Mountainside Racing), and Steve Gayner (Badger Velo Club).

In the Women's race, Selene Yeager (Bicycling/South Mountain Cycles) crossed the line first, followed by Sonja Evers (CycleLife p/b Specialized), Danielle Musto (Kenda Pro Cycling), Betsy Shogren (Cannondale Factory Racing/Backyard Bike Club), and Bryna Nestor (CBRC-Iron Cross).

The Singlespeed race was won by Gunnar Shogren (Cannondale Factory Racing/Backyard Bike Club). Shogren was followed by Bill Alcorn (Bike Flights), Dan Bonora (EWR Racing), Terry Blanchet (CBRC-Iron Cross), and Michael Tressler (Rad Racing).

The Team Cup competition was captured by CBRC-Iron Cross. The King of the Mountain competition was captured by Andy Guptill; Selene Yeager was the Queen of the Mountain.

Yellow Breeches Racing and High Speed Cycling would like to thank our race volunteers, sponsors, the Carlisle Family YMCA, PA DCNR, South Mountain Repeaters, Yellow Breeches EMS, and Fayetteville Ambulance Co.

Iron Cross VIII is scheduled for the weekend of October 9 & 10, 2010

Links to results, photos, blogs, etc. below...


Chuck Armstrong video of IC:

From Uncle Don Pagano (feat. aerial shots of Spiral of Death):

From Hans, video of the start:

From Chuck Armstrong:

From Tim Mullin:

From Ed Felker:

From David Trimble:


IC Lite:


From Selene Yeager:

From Ed Felker:

From Jeremiah Bishop:

From Todd @ Wrench Out:

From Dave Kegly:


Iron Cross VII:

Iron Cross Lite: